Party people

Last night marked my ahem-cough-snort-nd birthday, which called for celebration! I know some people would rather let their day come and go unnoticed, but I love me some birthday action. I’m not big on presents or a lot of elaborate stuff; for me, it’s just nice to be acknowledged. Plus, the IU vs. Kentucky NCAA playoff game provided an added excuse to gather some of my nearest and dearest besties at the house to hang out.

If you know me, you know how much I love to entertain. Here’s what I put together by way of sustenance:

bourbon-baked ham from Ralph’s Great Divide

Mini ham sandwiches. I’ve been looking for an opportunity to order some bourbon-baked ham from Ralph’s Great Divide for awhile now. All they need is 24 hours to whip it up and slice it however you want. Highly recommend; this stuff was delish. As a non-Catholic, though, I totally spaced that this was a Friday during lent. (My bad!) We heathens who did eat the ham really enjoyed it.

my deviled egg “bar.” Genius, no?

Deviled egg bar. Libertine here in Indy has been garnering rave reviews for its deviled egg sampler with various gourmet toppings. I was all set to recreate the same type of thing until I hit on the idea of a “bar” that allowed guests to dude up their own eggs with a variety of do-it-yourself adornments. Since I needed things that would be ok to sit out during the party, I went with bacon “dust” (super crispy strips crushed very finely), chopped green onions, fresh dill and capers. I thought it was pretty ingenious, and who doesn’t like deviled eggs? Well, besides my hubby, of course.

pimento cheese (thanks Evan!)

Pimento cheese. One of the new food trends for this year as declared by leading foodie magazines, I cribbed this recipe from an editor friend after sampling his contribution at a holiday party several months ago. It was easier to make than I thought, and sooooo tasty. I spread a big scoop of it onto some bread for lunch yesterday, and plan on doing the same thing again today.

classic crudite

Crudite. The classic party standby — veggies and dip. Always a crowd-pleaser, and always looks fresh and pretty if you assemble it yourself. Ditto for a nice selection of cheeses.

It was a great gathering of friends, and a great night. Here’s hoping my ahem-cough-snort year will be the best yet!

One thought on “Party people

Leave a Reply

