My little pumpkin

To me, fall carries several food connotations. Chili, my hubby’s Guinness beef stew, caramel apples and pumpkin. I’m not big on pumpkin pie, but for some reason I love it in other variations. Pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin frozen custard… Uh, YUM!

I headed down to a family reunion of sorts over the weekend and I knew I wanted to contribute something to the meal that would represent my mom. Lo and behold, I came across a recipe in my box that she had made years and years ago called Pennsylvania Dutch Pumpkin Dessert. Perfect. Like most of my mom’s recipes, I believe she came across this one at a church function. Don’t know what it is about those church ladies, but they sure can cook!

This concoction is sort of like pumpkin pie, but in a brownie-ish form, and incorporates a box of yellow cake mix. Strange, you may think, to use cake mix to create a crust, but it works. And just like pumpkin pie, these bars/squares/whatever you want to call them scream out for a big goopy dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream on top. This is a great pitch-in dish, or a nice finale to any sorta special fall meal.

Here’s the recipe:

Pennsylvania Dutch Pumpkin Dessert
18 servings
Ingredients:

1 pkg. yellow cake mix
3/4 c. butter
4 eggs
1 15 oz. can of pumpkin
1/4 c. sweetened condensed milk
1 c. brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Grease bottom only of 9″ x 13” baking dish.
Measure out 1 cup of yellow cake mix and set aside in a small bowl.
Melt 1/2 c. of butter in the microwave, then mix with the remaining cake mix and 1 egg.
Pour into bottom of greased baking dish and spread evenly in a thin layer.
Mix the pumpkin, 3 eggs, sweetened evaporated milk, 1/2 c. of brown sugar and cinnamon.
Pour into baking dish on top of the yellow cake layer and spread evenly.
Mix the remaining 1 c. cake mix with 1/2 c. brown sugar and 1/4 c. softened butter to create pea-sized streusel crumbs.
Scatter streusel crumbs over the pumpkin layer.
Bake for 1 hour.
When cool, cut into squares.

Thanks, mom.

Pennsylvania Dutch Pumpkin Dessert

Pennsylvania Dutch Pumpkin Dessert

One thought on “My little pumpkin

Leave a Reply

